Quick Links
History of TCMA
  Member Services
  Public Services
  bullet Sponsors
  bullet Ethics
  bullet Upcoming Events
Quick Links
Executive Director
  Board of Directors
  TCMA Committees
  Past Presidents
  Association Audits
  Financial Management Policy
Quick Links
Membership Categories
  Membership Dues
  Membership Application
Quick Links
  ICMA Code of Ethics
Quick Links
  Board Minutes
Quick Links
Professional Awards
  Ed Young Scholarship Fund

Excellence in Municipal Government Award

2017 Excellence in Municipal Government
The City of Harriman
>Read the Press Release

What is it?
The award for Excellence in Municipal Government is sponsored by the Tennessee City Management Association to honor municipalities that have developed unique and creative programs that have increased the efficiency and effectiveness of local government. This award is designed to recognize the municipality as an organization with professional management.

The Excellence in Municipal Government award is aimed at recognizing the entire city government organization. The purpose of the award is to promote the Council-Manager plan and the attributes of a professionally managed city. This recognition will be presented at the Tennessee Municipal League conference. The award should be accepted by a manager, or assistant, in conjunction with the mayor of the selected city.

Is My City Eligible?
Any Tennessee city served by a TCMA member may apply. You are encouraged nominate your city. A manager or assistant, along with the mayor, will accept the award on behalf of the city at the awards presentation portion of the annual Tennessee Municipal League conference.

What is Excellence in Municipal Government?
Any original project or program that has been successfully implemented and may serve as a model for other communities is a good candidate for award nomination. Nominations should address a situation common to municipalities in Tennessee in a new and different way. Applications may be submitted to feature any area of local government; public safety, sanitation/solid waste management, recreation, financial management, personnel/human resources, land use management/planning, public works, and risk management are just a few possibilities. A brief abstract, submitted with the nomination, should explain how the program has resulted in increased efficiency in the administration of local government, improved delivery of services to citizens, and/or cost savings to the city.

Judges: The judging panel is a committee designated by the TCMA Executive Board.

How May My City Apply? Complete the Nomination Form

For more information Email Mike Walker, TCMA Executive Director.

Submission: Supporting documents such as pictures or newspaper clippings can be emailed with the application form.


Award Recipients

At the Tennessee Municipal League Conference each June, TCMA recognizes one member city or town in the State that has undertaken programs and efforts that have made the community a better place to live and work. Nominations may be received from anyone that has knowledge of the achievements and accomplishments of the city or town.  The criteria used by the Nomination and Recognition Committee in evaluating the nominations includes the following:

  • Unique and creative programs developed by the municipality that have increased the efficiency and effectiveness of the local government.
  • Sustainable programs that provide long-term benefit to the community and can serve as a model for other communities to implement.
  • Programs that improve service delivery to citizens and generate cost savings to the municipality.
  • Initiatives that have expanded the community’s tax base, increased employment opportunity, etc.

The Prior Year Recipients of the Excellence in Municipal Government Award are listed below:

2016 City of Spring Hill
2015 City of Goodlettsville
2014 City of Savannah
2013 City of Paris
2012 City of Kingsport
2011 Cities of Brentwood & Franklin
2010 City of Franklin
2009 City of Germantown
2008 Town of Collierville
2007 City of Johnson City
2006 City of Gatlinburg
2005 City of Murfreesboro
2004 City of Columbia
2003 City of Brentwood
2002 City of Athens
2001 City of Germantown
2000 City of Tullahoma
1999 City of Paris
1998 City of Fayetteville
1997 City of Cleveland
1996 City of Athens
1995 City of Bristol
1994 City of Goodlettsville
1993 City of Brentwood
1992 City of Bristol
1991 Unknown
1990 City of Oak Ridge 
1989 Unknown
1988 City of Brentwood



TCMA | 9908 Lodestone Drive | Brentwood, TN 37027 | Mike Walker, TCMA Executive Director | (615) 306-9484
Local Government Corporation | Email the Webmaster